Wordwatch Towers

A plain language guide to punctuation, grammar and writing well.

Travel mug

with 3 comments

Starbucks in the Financial District near South...
Image via Wikipedia

Sorry, did I say travel mug? I meant ‘drinkware’.

That’s how Starbucks describes my new purchase in the enclosed leaflet.

I’m also told that my ‘drinkware’ is not suitable for ‘carbonated beverages’.

I’ll not put fizzy drinks in my mug, then.

Wordwatching

Neologisms (new words and phrases)

Plain English Campaign

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If it was made in the States or your laws are anything likes ours, I bet the leaflet also has stern warnings to be careful because contents may be hot.

    Michael Farrell

    27/02/2010 at 3:56 pm

    • Yes, lots of warnings. Apparently, ‘hot liquids can burn user’. Who’d have thought it?

      Deborah

      27/02/2010 at 8:24 pm

  2. I just saw this blog subtitle, which features two ugly, unnecessary neologisms: “A Facebook page aimed to direct traffic to a new website has become a town hall for foodie opinionistas.” In my experience, nearly everyone likes good food and has opinions — about food and everything else.

    Michael Farrell

    27/02/2010 at 6:15 pm


Your questions and comments are welcome.

