Wordwatch Towers

A plain language guide to punctuation, grammar and writing well.

Crisp copy?

with 9 comments

A pack of Walkers Salt & Vinegar potato crisps...

So, I’m sitting in my garden drinking cold beer and eating crisps (classy, I know) in the unusual heat of an English summer day; I can’t be bothered to drag my carcass inside to get a book, so I start to read the crisp packet instead.

Well, hello there you copywriting people at Walkers.

According to the message emblazoned across the front of the bag, I am eating crisps ‘made with real ingredients’. That’s reassuring, seeing as how I’ve already consumed half the packet.

Is it possible to get crisps made from ‘unreal ingredients’? Virtual ingredients, perhaps.

The message on the reverse of the packet is slightly less gung-ho and I’m sensing some backtracking. Now I find that the potatoes with which my crisps have been made (Lady Rosetta and Saturna if you must know) are merely ‘infused’ with the aforementioned real ingredients. And I don’t want to go on, but now I’m reading that the potato/infusion thing means that the crisps ‘deliver a uniquely mysterious and deliciously irresistible taste discovery’.

I’m not sure I want to eat something ‘uniquely mysterious’. And see how the copywriter got to ‘taste’ there and just couldn’t leave it alone.

I should have got a book.

Wordwatching

Plain language tips

Written by Wordwatch

02/07/2010 at 7:22 am

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Morning Deborah,

    So, not embracing phoning in your post, then?

    Well, at least they aren’t Pringles, which as they attract VAT, presumably aren’t even food.

    Ron

    Ron

    02/07/2010 at 9:23 am

  2. I’m not the full quid today, Ron. What’s the phoning reference?

    Your Pringles/VAT observation is very funny.

    Deborah

    02/07/2010 at 2:52 pm

    • Sos — got it, got it, got it.

      Deborah

      02/07/2010 at 4:28 pm

      • Yep, I have days like that.

        A bit OT but my copy of Longbow has arrived, and I was right. Yay!

        Ron

        02/07/2010 at 6:43 pm

  3. I’m not sure if I should suggest more beer or less beer.

    Michael Farrell

    03/07/2010 at 1:24 am

  4. I am eating crisps ‘made with real ingredients’. That’s reassuring, seeing as how I’ve already consumed half the packet.
    At this point I was cackling so hard I was almost doubled over. Brilliant. Brilliant.

    TaleTellerin

    03/07/2010 at 11:07 pm

    • I’m really glad you enjoyed it, TaleTellerin. And it’s so kind of you to take the time to say so.

      Deborah

      04/07/2010 at 1:32 pm


Your questions and comments are welcome.

