Wordwatch Towers

A plain language guide to punctuation, grammar and writing well.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Morning Deborah.

    I was persuaded to open a Google+ account – against my better judgement, I might add – but its implementation is just too clunky for words, I quickly found myself severely afflicted by CBA and I haven’t been back.

    I have to say, though, that I’m with Google on the anonymity thing – the culture of anonymity is at the bottom of most of what’s wrong with the blogosphere, and while I accept that there are countries where anonymity is not only desirable, but essential just to stay alive, nobody in the US, where this thing originated, can claim that. The trouble is, though, that far too many people take advantage of anonymity to wallow in and promote hatred, and churn out libel by the ream. Any blogger who’s been plagued by psycho trolls will know that only too well.

    So, sorry Vegas, it’s a hard life, but I happen to agree with Google that if you blog, you do so under your own name (and yes, I do know the system is open to abuse, and that there should be exceptions, as I said above). Everything I’ve ever written online – and that’s a lot – has my own name on it and, for better or worse, I stand by every word. Why would I not?

    Ron

    01/12/2011 at 8:44 am

    • Hi, Ron

      Thanks for this response.

      I agree about cowardly and despicable people hiding behind pseudonyms to unleash invective but, nevertheless, I think our Eric needs to check out of Motel Megalomania. There are all kinds of perfectly straightforward reasons why people don’t want to use their real name online, and there’s no reason why they should have to. I can legally use any name I wish IRL, as long as it’s not to commit crime. IMHO, the same should apply online.

      And how could Google possibly police such a thing, anyway?

      Someone said to me yesterday that Google wants to be a country. That just about sums it up, I think.

      Hear that noise? That’s my blog being rapidly un-indexed by Google as I speak. Oh, well…

      Thanks again, Ron.

      Deborah

      01/12/2011 at 8:54 am

      • While mine is doubtless being ratcheted up! 😉

        Ron

        02/12/2011 at 5:33 pm

        • Yes, I don’t think I’ll be getting my usual Christmas card from Eric this year.

          Deborah

          02/12/2011 at 7:42 pm

  2. I’m with Deborah on this one, as per usual…
    Although I also find Google+ clunky, I did sign up for it — under my nom de plume. I reserve the right to use any damn name I please and even the Google fascists have not yet found a way to stop me.
    So there, Eric.

    Maggie Manning

    02/12/2011 at 6:37 pm

    • Hi, Maggie!

      It’s lovely to see you here. And yes, I couldn’t agree more. I think Eric is having second thoughts about this (judging from some bits and pieces I’ve been reading); it’ll be interesting to see what happens. Thanks very much for stopping by.

      Deborah

      02/12/2011 at 7:57 pm


Your questions and comments are welcome.

